Perseverance

Hi everyone 🙂 Today, I have a post all about the idea of perseverance, and the power to stick at something. Let’s begin.

So last Tuesday, I had just entered school and was sitting down in the hall for the second year assembly. It was an average day: the only classes I was looking forward to were chemistry, maths and business.

The assembly started off as it usually would: announcements from the daily sheet, the rector talking to us about the state of the locker room upstairs. Yawn.

It was Halloween, of course, and the only thing I was thinking about was the delicious kiddie dinner I would be having tonight: a selection of crisps, peanuts, veggies, sausages, and Halloween sweets for dessert. *drools* XD

Then our year head stepped up to talk to us. He loaded a video onto the projector screen. Someone’s phone went off at the back of the hall, a few rows behind me, and the boys started to snigger as one of them make a quiet joke.

“I have a video I’d like to show you,” our year head said. “This video is about a quality that you all should learn, and is one of our school’s core values. Now, if I can just get it to play…”

Alright, so that last part slightly diminished the overall effect. But I was still all ears.

And then the video began.

It was a TED talk, by a woman named Angela Lee Duckworth. And the video was titled Grit: The power of passion and perseverance.

Passion, huh? I’ve blogged about that before, right?

Already, I was feeling that this video was going to be very relevant to me.

I was right.

And before I say anymore about it… I think you need to watch the video for yourself.

Here is a link, so you can see it on the official website and possibly bookmark the page (that’s what I’ve done!). If it’s not working, type into Google ‘ted talks grit’ and it should be the first thing to come up in the search.

Have you watched it yet? Come on, go for it! It will open in a new tab, after all, so no need to worry about returning to my blog – you’ll still have this page open 😉

Okay… you’ve watched it now? What did you think?

When I first watched this video, I was completely mind-blown. Because… I was just so surprised at how much it was already involved in my life. Yet it had never hit me in this way before.

Every day of my school years, I’ve been reminded by parents, teachers, and posters on the walls that I need to do my best. I need to stick in with school. I need to do my homework on time, pay attention in class, and go to university.

Now, I have no problem with wanting to do any of those things. I’d love to go to university. It’s the actual doing that trips me up sometimes.

Because I can’t be bothered. Because I’m ‘too busy’. Because I have other stuff to do. Because, because, because.

There I go with the excuses again (oh look! I’ve mentioned that before on my blog as well. See what I mean about being relative to my life?)

Anyway, my aim is to be one of those people who can confidently say: I always take notes, listen carefully and complete extra assignments. I do my best and even if it’s not perfect, I’ll keep doing it until it is. I won’t give up, or be deterred by failure.

And I’d like to think I’m nearly there. But in reality… I have so much work to do before I reach that target.

I still need to adapt a better growth mindset – the video mentioned that too. (You’ll never believe it – I coincidentally posted about this a few months ago without realizing it would crop up in the littlest of things. Again, so relevant to my life…)

The point is, Angela conducted so many tests and experiments. She did so much research with her team. And every time, one characteristic significantly stood out from the rest – grit.

If you haven’t watched the video yet (go do it NOW) then here is Angela’s definition of grit:

“Grit is having passion and perseverance for very long-term goals. Grit is having stamina. Grit is sticking with your future, day in, day out, not just for the week, not just for the month, but for years, and working really hard to make that future a reality. Grit is living life like it’s a marathon, not a sprint.”

I think I might have to adapt that as my new personal motto.

Isn’t that a description of something we all want? To stick in with our dreams until we’ve achieved them? To try our best, no matter what, until we come out on top? To persevere through the hard times and relish in the results?

I know that’s what I want in life.

My school report is coming out next week, and I’m getting really antsy about it. I don’t know why, because to this day, behaviour-wise, I’ve still never had a detention, punishment, demerit, call-out, warning or referral (our school has so many words for trouble).

And as for grades, I haven’t had a single test this year less than… hmm, would Americans call it an A? +85%? If you know how the system works in the USA, drop me a comment… I’d love to know XD

Yet I have an uneasy feeling in my stomach. But… I don’t know what I’ve done wrong.

Maybe it’s just my anxiety. I get worried over the smallest of things, for no reason whatsoever.

Then again, maybe my conscience is hiding something from me.

The point is… I need to persevere with my learning. I need to show my teachers, family and future bosses that I am gritty, and that I deserve to do whatever I’m trying to do, whether that be get into uni, become a prefect, bag a new job, or buy a car (not sure what that has to do with grit, but oh well… XD).

This is a message I think everyone needs to hear, a valid point that deserves to be made. Grit is important to a successful life, and it’s time we started to find out more about it.

Thank you so much for reading today’s post, I hope you take something from it 🙂 Remember, if you want something… you have to go get it ❤

Incomplete Thinker xx

4 thoughts on “Perseverance

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

