England Travel Diary – Days 7 & 8

Hi everyone! Today, I have the next installment in my travel diary series! We are covering days 7 & 8 πŸ™‚ If you’d like to find the previous posts in the series, find the first one (days 1 – 4) here and the second one (days 5 & 6) here.

And a brief apology: This post was expected to be up a couple of days ago, but the day before it was scheduled to be published, it mysteriously deleted itself and could not be recovered 😦 But no worries, I have re-typed and tried to make it even better than before! So… let’s get into it!

So on day 7 (28th of July) we decided to go for a full day out, since we’d not done that yet on our trip. Almost all of our days had included multiple activities, such as “pitch and putt, then steam train” or “water park, abbey, and beach”.

Where did we decide to go?

The zoo, of course!

Back home, we don’t have a zoo nearby – it’s about an hour and a half away – so we were really excited to be going to a new one!

When we arrived, we bundled inside (it had started to spit a little. Classic UK weather), put on our ponchos (we’d bought reusable ponchos especially for the trip!) and then stepped outside and began to look around.

It was massive!

There were so many animals, and it took forever to get from one side to another. So instead of me rambling on for the next few hours, I will showcase a little gallery of pictures that I took at the zoo! (If you’re interested in knowing what species the animals are, I have added captions where I can to help you out πŸ™‚ )

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After that awesome expedition, we went out to a restaurant for dinner, and explored a little more, before returning home for the night.

And then… possibly one of the best days of our vacation… Saturday the 29th (day 8)!

In the morning… we went kayaking! I’d only ever been kayaking once before (and with my school, not with my family) so it was great to re-learn the techniques, and get back onto the Devon beaches yet again πŸ™‚

P2080878.JPG

My mum and I partnered up, as did my brother and my dad, and it was an incredible experience to paddle across the sea, from one place to another. We even visited a secret beach that could not easily be accessed by foot.

One of the best parts of the session was that as we were getting ready to paddle back to the beach where we started, a seal popped up from underneath the water! He disappeared pretty quickly, but after we’d begun the journey back, he and one of his pals came up again! They swam around us for a little bit, practically by our sides, and our instructor got some good pictures. Then, they decided they’d had enough and vanished XD Still, it was a really special moment – I’d never been that close to a seal before ❀

Another good bit was when we stopped on the secret beach for a biscuit break. My mum and I went down to the water. As we were wearing wetsuits and buoyancy aids, we basically lay down in the water – and it was like floating on a cloud! We were kept afloat so easily, and it was just so much fun to bob around like that for a few minutes.

Overall, a great morning ❀

We still had one little afternoon left in Devon, and so we decided to visit Greenway – the home of Agatha Christie, famous author! I’m really into murder and mystery books, so this was a doubly exciting opportunity for me.

It was a lovely little place, and they served the best food – the salads were oh so much more than just a pile of green leaves, and the brownies were to die for!

When we got inside the house, there was lots to explore. One of my favourite rooms had a piano inside it – and I sat down and played at it! It was amazing to think that I was touching the same keys that Agatha Christie herself had too.

Then, we decided to venture up to the gardens… and just as we’d got properly outside, up to the top of the hill? It began chucking it down XD

I did manage to get a couple of pictures before we had to escape. There were a fair few that had a fogged-up lens, so I’ve not included those.

And then… it was time to return back to the campsite, for our last night 😦

That concludes our stay in Devon, and it also concludes this post! Don’t worry, though, because I will be back again to tell you about the rest of our time in England soon. I hope you’ve liked my travel series so far!

Thank you so much for reading this post! It really means a lot to me ❀

Incomplete Thinker xx

 

16 thoughts on “England Travel Diary – Days 7 & 8

Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard it called “spit” before. XD That was a new one. We usually say “sprinkle” or “mist.” XD

    Wow, zoo, kayaking, seals, Agatha Christie’s house?! What a lovely vacation!

    The flowers are so cool! I think my favorite is the one with the leopard colors. It reminds me of a lily; I wonder if it’s a Tiger Lily? The purple one looks like it might be a hydrangea. I love those. πŸ™‚ The raindrops on the petals make them even more special. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, that’s something we Brits say! XD

    I know! I was so fortunate to do all of it πŸ™‚ It was a fantastic experience!

    Thank you! I like that one too, and I think you’re right, it’s definitely something like a tiger lily.

    That’s so true – I love it when flowers are showered with raindrops. It looks so beautiful ❀

    Thank you for reading! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh that’s so cool that you got to go to that zoo! It looks amazing πŸ™‚ Sorry the one closest to you is so far away; where I live, we have zoos and nature reserves pretty close to us, which I’m very thankful for. I love visiting them!

    Your experience with the seal is epic! I’ve never seen one up close; there was a seal exhibit at a zoo I visited last year, but I didn’t have enough time to go up and see them.

    Also, I am totally fangirling over the fact that you visited Greenway!! I LOVE Agatha Christie! That’s awesome that you got to play at her piano! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know! It was a great day out πŸ™‚ That’s so cool that you can visit nature reserves all the time though.

    Yes, epic is a good word for it! πŸ™‚ Aww, that’s such a shame you couldn’t see them 😦 But I’m sure you will see one up close one day!

    Haha, I’m still fangirling about it myself! Agatha Christie’s books are absolutely AMAZING ❀

    Thank you for reading xx

    Like

  5. Ah, I see. I like it! XD

    πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing your travels with us!

    They are lovely! πŸ™‚ I’d love to have one of those in my garden. (I have red lilies, orange lilies and yellow lilies already. I really love lilies. XD)

    πŸ’¦ 🌸 ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. πŸ™‚

    Me too! πŸ˜€ I love herbs; I haven’t had much luck in growing them though, except for Rosemary. And Rosemary is very fragrant! πŸ™‚ I want to try Mint, Sage, Oregano, Dill, Cilantro and Basil next year. 🌱 (I know, that’s a lot. XD) Do you have herbs?

    🌹 πŸ˜€ I’d love to have a variety of roses someday.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes! I love rosemary πŸ™‚ Unfortunately we cut down one of our many rosemary bushes last year as it was causing issues with the neighbours 😦
    Ooh, they all sound great! ❀
    Yeah, I do have herbs! Rosemary, basil and thyme. I'd love to try mint and sage as well though!

    Yes ❀ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re no longer a cairn! 😱 (Haha, in case you haven’t heard of that, a cairn is a conical heap of stones. I learned this in a Nancy Drew mystery game called Danger on Deception Island. I had no idea that there was a name for a pile of pretty stones until then. XD) In all seriousness, I like your new avatar! πŸ™‚

    πŸ˜€ Aww, that’s sad. Glad you have more than one though. πŸ™‚

    Oh cool! πŸ˜€ What’s your secret? Haha, I’ve bought basil and thyme and they both died. I don’t know what I did wrong. Too much water? Not enough? Too much sun? Not enough? XD I want to get it right next year! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Haha! That’s so cool, I didn’t know that. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m testing out a bunch of images and design websites at the moment, so it may change again… XD You are probably the most observant person I have ever met! (Wait… we’ve never met XD)

    Yeah πŸ™‚

    XD The “secret formula” takes ages to get right! Last year our thyme died as well. It takes a lot of effort! I think the trick is lots of water – that’s what we do anyway… XD Good luck for next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That sounds like a lot of fun! πŸ™‚ I look forward to seeing it change at random. XD

    Aww, thanks. πŸ™‚ Haha, true! XD

    Ooohh. I feel for the plants that don’t survive the β€œit takes ages” period. But practice makes perfect – eventually. XD

    Aww.

    I’ll try that next year! πŸ˜€

    Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

