England Travel Diary – Days 1 – 4

Hello, everybody! Firstly, please excuse the stray, fuzzy blade of grass in the title picture XD

So last week, I got back from my 2-week vacation to England, and I thought I’d tell you about my adventures. I also took a lot of photos I’m eager to share! In this post (first of many to come!) I’ll be covering the first four days of our vacation. So that’s the introduction done… now, let’s begin!

Way back on Saturday 22nd July, my family and I left for Liverpool. We drove for about 7 hours and then reached our travel lodge for the night, and… fell asleep. Not much excitement there XD (Quick note – most of my other posts will be covering just two days, but I thought that since our first day wasn’t even enough for a full paragraph, I should add an extra two days in to this first post in the series XD)

On 23rd June, we left the lodge, on our way to watch the Open (for those of you who don’t know, it’s a golf competition). We had a great day watching all the golf! Congratulations to Jordan Spieth, who won the tournament.

Here’s two keen golfers I found in the hospitality tent. Made of grass… XD

IMG_20170723_104210_1.jpg

I bought a few too many souvenirs, but one which I especially treasure is this blue leather notebook. It has The Open printed in silver, and the pages are quite thick and a gorgeous cream colour. I just love collecting notebooks. I think each one has a story behind them, if you know what I mean? They all have the same purpose, but they all have different backgrounds. (If you love notebooks as much as I do, stick around for the rest of this series, as I purchased a few more down in Oxford!)

I’ve actually visited quite a few of the Open championships over the years – around 5 or 6? (Including the ladies’ ones, of course!) I have a collection (yes, another) of flags that I’ve bought from the events – so far I have three! 🙂

After that fabulous day out, we headed to a travel lodge to stay the night, and the next day we continued our drive until we reached Devon!

That was where we set up camp, preparing ourselves to be sleeping under canvas for the next week. It was quite a struggle to get the tent up, but once we’d finally stuck the last peg in the ground, we sat back and put the kettle on.

img_20170724_165958.jpg

In the evening, we set out to discover a beach (more about beaches later) but ended up stumbling across a nature reserve. This turned out perfectly – we got some stunning photos, got to experience a new place, and best of all – we got to see the sun set over the lighthouse we were stood next to.

IMG_20170724_204634

I also took a few pictures from behind one of the stone walls at the reserve, and I think they turned out quite well…?

IMG_20170724_202420

I don’t want to quote, but the many stone walls and tunnels meant I can say we watched the sunset over the castle on the hill ❤ (That last part is true as well! The whole reserve was built on top of a massive cliff!)

IMG_20170724_203706_1

Okay, just one or two more…

IMG_20170724_202055.jpg

IMG_20170724_205139_1

The next day of camp was the 25th. It was an absolutely stunning day, the best weather I’ve seen all year by far. My family and I realized there were far too many things for us to ever complete them all, so we decided we’d visit a beach today (after our fail at finding one last night). We managed to get hold of a map, and then realized… there were over 35 nearby beaches we could visit! Talk about a hard choice…

Eventually we chose one we all liked, and trooped down there for the day. My brother and I got our wet-suits on, and had a fabulous time in the water for a few hours, splashing and swimming and having the odd seaweed fight XD

IMG_20170725_104101_1

We also discussed our desperate desire for an underwater camera… maybe someday!

After we’d dried off, and stopped for ice cream at the cafe, we went for a walk over another cliff to find a second beach, which was tucked away under a treetop canopy and looked beautiful – all of the rocks (most Devon beaches are pebble, we discovered) against the bright blue sea. Stunning.

Here’s a little shot of the view from above the beach:

IMG_20170725_151139

It reminds me of Greece, for some reason! Maybe it’s the vibrant turquoise of the water and the caves…

That night, we took a second trip down to the nature reserve (I promise this is our last time though!). We managed to just catch the sunset again! I took a lot of pictures, but most have me in them, so I’ll share a couple that just feature the landscape… (my sunnies had to star, of course!)

IMG_20170724_205558_1

IMG_20170724_210536

And that was the first four days of our vacation! I promise you that the other posts in the series will be slightly more interesting, and will have more pictures XD It’s just that we needed the first few days to get set up, you know?

Thanks for reading this post! It’s much appreciated ❤ I’ll be hopefully publishing the next post in this series soon!

Incomplete Thinker xx

 

39 thoughts on “England Travel Diary – Days 1 – 4

Add yours

  1. Yeah! 😀

    Oh wow! That still sounds fun though. Is it a simple wooden box or one of those fancy puzzle boxes that takes forever to open?

    LOL, me too. XD Funny how that’s where a lot of good ideas come from.

    Oh, haha! XD Matching decorations is nice! 🙂 Different parts of my room have different themes at this point. My desk has Oriental things on it, cat and duck figurines are on my bookshelf, a cross collection is on a corner shelf, one shelf has silver-plated antiques, and I also have a gumball machine filled with marbles on my windowsill. And three Pound Puppies and a stuffed bear guard my marbles, because I don’t want to lose my marbles… (Oh, puns! XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 🙂

    Haha, just a plain old wooden box! I keep loose change in there. At the moment in that same class I’m making a chess board – a little more complex this time XD I’d love to make one of the puzzle boxes one day though!

    Haha, yes!

    Wow, that sounds awesome! ❤ Figurines are so cool, I don't have any but I love admiring them in shops. Marbles are great too! (Ouch, that pun hurt XD) On my window ledge I have lots of candles, and I also have my "souvenir" corner – a China turtle from Greece, an engraved pebble from Devon…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, that’s really cool! 😀

    A chess board sounds so fun! Do you play chess?

    😀 I really like them too.

    Ooohhh, candles are nice! 🙂

    Those sound really great! I love the idea of a souvenir corner. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you! 🙂

    I actuallly do play chess! Just for fun, though. My brother is quite good and usually beats me… XD I only really started playing properly last year. Before that, I had no idea what the pieces meant or where they were allowed to go.

    Yes 🙂

    Ahh, candles are my sanctuary! I love flower scented ones, but at the moment I’m bringing out my autumn (fall?) collection.

    Thanks! I’m trying to collect something from everywhere “exotic” that I visit (… Devon is exotic for me, right? XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 🙂

    That’s cool! 😀 I used to; it has been a while. I forgot how to “castle” though. 😂 My dad used to beat me all the time!

    😀 Me too; my favorite is probably lavender. So soothing! Though blueberry is a close second. Oh, autumn candles! What kinds of scents are those? Pumpkin pie?

    That’s really cool! 😀 LOL, I suppose it is! 🙂 XD

    I haven’t been anywhere exotic yet; I’ve only been out of my state a few times. It would be fun to someday though! (Though the thought of riding in a plane scares me. XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha, it’s easy to forget these things! 🙂

    Ooh, lavender is a good one! I remember I used to make little lavender bags all the time as a kid XD I love my sweet pea candle too. Haha, I do actually have a pumpkin pie one! I also have a bunch called things like “Autumn Leaves” and “Orange and Gold”. I can’t put a finger on the actual scent but they are really good ❤

    Haha XD

    It was really fun for me to go to Greece, and my first time on a plane. The plane journey wasn't too bad at all – the food was pretty decent and I just slept for most of the time XD

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That’s true.

    Yes, it used to be so much fun! They smelled nice too. We still have a few lavender bushes in our garden.

    Thanks 🙂 They are really nice scents, I’m so happy to have them. They really relax me ❤

    I've heard that is the case for some people! I guess I just like to sleep because it doesn't make me travel sick. XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

