Staying Productive in Summer

Hi everyone! Welcome back to my blog, or hello if you’re new around here πŸ™‚

I’m sure you all know how hard it is to stay busy in summer, right? It’s easier to sleep in, veg out in front of the TV, and play computer games, rather than stay focused on tasks and work on getting things done.

I’ve experienced this year after year. And now I want to do something about it. So here are a few of my tips for staying active and productive this summer!

  1. Get into a routine. Waking up at a similar time every day, going to bed at a similar time every day, and even having lunch at a similar time every day can really help get your head in the game. Your brain will know exactly how much time you have to spend being awake, and you’ll be more focused on what you have to do.
  2. Determine your to-do list. I love to create a list every day of the things I want to accomplish or work on. That’s why I bullet journal! It allows me to decide exactly what I want to do, but if I don’t complete it I can simply cross it and push it forwards to the next day. You don’t have to bullet journal, or even write down your list on paper, but it just helps to prioritize on what you have to do, so you don’t get too distracted on other things.
  3. Time yourself. It’s quite rewarding to see how much you’ve accomplished, and you can do this by tracking how long you spend being productive each day. I use an app on my phone called Forest, where you set a time for how long you want to stay focused. If you manage to stay on task, you get to grow a virtual tree, and you can continue to grow your virtual forest each day. It’s fun, easy-to-use, FREE, and really motivating. (Note that I am not sponsored! Just stating an honest opinion ❀ )
  4. Create a mixture. No use doing the same thing, day after day. Try and mix your to-do list up a little! For example, my summer priorities are my homework (academical), my piano (musical), my golf (exercise) and my guinea pigs (leisure?). They’re all a bit different from each other. You can have anything on your priority list: learning a language, cooking new foods, whatever. As long as it doesn’t resemble something like this… tennis practice, football matches, running every day, hitting the gym, boxing sessions, basketball training… XD
  5. And finally: Allow yourself a break. It’s summer, after all. Make sure you take a bit of time for yourself each day, doing whatever makes you feel happy. Whether that’s taking the dog for a walk, blogging (hehe), or running yourself a nice warm bath. A mixture of work and play will pay off immensely.

Thank you all for reading! I hope you’ve enjoyed, and I hope this post has helped you out a little. See you soon!

Incomplete Thinker xx

20 thoughts on “Staying Productive in Summer

Add yours

  1. I love this post! Your advice is so useful – I have so much work to do for next year (which I probably should be doing now…). I’ll have to check out Forest – it sounds like I’d find it super useful ☺️ thank you for sharing your tips+advice x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great advice! πŸ™‚

    I’ve been struggling with routine. I always want to stay up late and then I don’t want to get up when I need to! πŸ˜‚

    I really should make a list… XD

    Oh wow, it’s times like these I wish I had a smart phone. That sounds like a great app! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much! πŸ’—

    Routine is hard, you’re right. I’m totally the same – I can stay awake all night but even if I head to bed early I just can’t feel refreshed in the morning.

    LOL XD

    It is an excellent app! I’m so thankful for my phone, but you honestly don’t need a smartphone to be organized… XD

    Liked by 2 people

  4. πŸ™‚

    Exactly! And it’s annoying when you go to bed early so you can feel refreshed in the morning, and then, you don’t… 😜

    Yes… but it still sounds fun to grow a virtual forest. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  5. πŸ™‚

    I know!! And last night I got back from my trip to England, and I’d slept for most of the 10 hour car journey so I was not in the least tired. To make it worse, we got back late and I made the mistake of having caffeine… therefore I was still on YouTube and WordPress (catching up with two week’s worth of missed videos/posts) at 1:30am… ultimate “early to bed” fail XD

    True. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh wow; that is quite an epic early to bed fail!πŸ˜‚ I’m sure the next morning you were yelling at yourself, “WHY DID I DO THAT?” XD

    Yikes, two weeks is a lot to catch up on; I’m about two days behind, and I’m struggling to catch up! 😳

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, indeed… XD I was literally strangling myself, LOL. I did it again last night as well! *sigh* I really need to get back into a routine for school, I’m back in a week XD

    So true; I found it so hard to catch up. Truth be told, I’m still working at getting through every single one! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LOL! Shame on you! πŸ˜‚ (Says the person who stayed up until 3AM last night… Oops.) Oh wow, school starts already? Summer goes by so fast!

    Haha, I understand that! I’m only one day behind now! (For now… I have a feeling I’ll get behind again after I catch up. XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Haha XD (Ooh, living the nocturnal life XD) Yet again I stayed up until 2AM last night. I’m developing a bit of an issue XD Yes, school’s back already! Talk about time flying… 😦

    Ah, glad you’ve caught up! LOL, I’m completely the same XD

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh dear, I definitely need this post! I have started to make to-do lists recently because I bought a planner for the academic year, and decided to start using it now. That’s amazing that you bullet journal, though. I tried bullet journaling and it didn’t work for me at the time. I’m new to your wonderful blog (this is the second post I’m reading; skipping around a bit, I hope you don’t mind), so I don’t know if you’ve written about your bullet journal, but if you haven’t, I think it would make an amazing post or even posts! (I know that bullet journal layouts can shift and change over time to fit your needs better.) Have a good day! –Julia

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haha, I’m glad it was helpful! I am in love with to-do lists, they are my life ❀ Yeah, my bullet journal is just a fun way for me to relax. I think it makes me less stressed…? It's not for everyone, so I totally understand if it didn't work for you, it took me a couple of months to really get into it. Thank you so much for checking my blog out! Of course I don't mind, that's what I do too πŸ˜‰ I've not previously written about my bullet journal but I am thinking of doing a post about it soon – maybe in a few weeks when I've cleared my current workload XD Yes, that's true – mine has altered quite a bit over the months! Thank you, you too πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Haha, yeah! Last night was another 2AM night for me too. I was up late anyway and there was supposed to be a meteor shower last night… unfortunately, the clouds blocked it for me. 😦

    Wow! Yeah… this summer has indeed flown by!

    I was caught up and now I’m back to being 2 days behind; I’ll catch up this weekend though, I’m sure! πŸ˜„

    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ooh, we are supposed to be having the meteor shower just now! Unfortunately it’s cloudly here as well! It’s only just past midnight πŸ˜‰

    It has indeed! But I feel I’ve had a great few weeks ❀

    Haha, the story of my life! I'm behind by a day now as well XD

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Aww, haha, that’s a shame.

    LOL, midnight – looks like we both still have problems going to bed! πŸ˜‚

    I’m so glad! I can’t wait to read you last post about your vacation! πŸ™‚

    LOL, me too. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Yes, but I’m sure I’ll catch it next time πŸ™‚

    Haha, definitely! But I’m actually going back to school the day after tomorrow so tonight I’m going to bed before 12… otherwise on the first day of school I will literally be running on 5 hours sleep XD

    Thank you! I hope you like it πŸ˜‰

    Ahh, I’m two days behind now… I might as well wait until the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. πŸ˜€ β˜„

    WOW. I hope you were able to get to bed early! 5 hours of sleep on the first day of school would not be good!

    I do! πŸ™‚

    LOL! (And now I’m making you further behind – oops! XD)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

