Showing Love

I’ve had my two guinea pigs for over 3 years now.

And for the majority of that time, I just couldn’t seem to appreciate them.

Of course, they were cute and cuddly and I loved them to bits, but I just never took the time to show them it. I rarely played with them. I didn’t check in on them too often. And I wasn’t the one who cleaned out their cage or fed them – my parents did that.

Then I saw a YouTube video from one of my favourite YouTubers, Annie Rose Cole. It was a tribute to her cat Cookie, and Cookie`s brother Styles. They’d both been killed by hawks. Annie described the scene: she’d been out for a walk, when she came across her cat Cookie. She was lying there, still, with red eyes and covered in blood. She was dead.

That made me really think.

Death. Injury. Disease. Loss.

I was totally shocked at how quickly something like that could happen. And I knew it could happen at any time.

From then onwards, I decided I was going to give Hazel and Vanilla (that’s what my guinea pigs are called) the love and attention they deserved.

I’m now making a conscious effort to always make sure the pigs have food and water. I take them out to play with whenever I can. I brush them, and I’m even going to start helping to clean out their cage.

This whole experience has shown me how important it is to treasure what you have, while you still have it. I’m now regretting the years I wasted when I should have been showing my guinea pigs love and affection.

I hope that if you are in the same position I was, you too will realize how special pets are. I’m now eternally thankful I’ve changed and incorporated my guinea pigs into my daily life.

I’m more grateful than ever that I’m lucky enough to have pets, and I’m sure the future will bring more good times with my furry friends.

Thank you all for reading, I will see you in my next post.

Incomplete Thinker xx

11 thoughts on “Showing Love

Add yours

  1. I feel so bad for that poor lady and her cats. I can relate. About ten years ago, an owl stole two of my puppies. I saw it come down into the backyard from our front yard but by the time I got back there, it was too late. They didn’t kill them and leave them like the hawks did; I just never saw them again, which might be a good thing, because I can only imagine how traumatizing that would be.

    Is that guinea pig in your post yours? So cute!! 😍 I’ve never had guinea pigs or hamsters or anything like that. Curious – what do they eat, and what are they like? I’ve had cats and dogs and chickens. Still have cats. 🙂

    I do get what you are saying, and I’m trying to do the same with my cats. They love being near me. My dog Rosie died last month, and it really puts things into perspective – like you said, you never know when something might happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know, it’s such a shame 😦 Oh no! That’s so sad… If that happened to me I could never get over it.
    Yes, that’s my guinea pig Vanilla! She’s pretty cute, but not as cute as the other one 😉 I’ll try and upload a pic of Hazel soon ❤
    Guinea pigs are really nice pets to have. Haha, they eat a lot of lettuce, and they're supposed to like carrotsbut our ones don't. Ours mainly eat lettuce, brussel sprouts, cucumber, apple cores, and dandelions XD
    They're also relatively easy to care for, you don't have to take them for walks, just play with them and brush their hair. Worst parts: giving them baths (my two HATE water), and cutting their nails.
    Ooh, chickens! That's so cool! How do they act? Cats are really cute also. I'm not a massive dog person but I think puppies are pretty sweet 🙂
    Yes, animals just love someone to play with. That's so sad – I'm really sorry 😦 I'm always anxious about this sort of thing. My granny's cat died two months back and even though I've only met the cat once, I was crying for a good hour. It's just the idea that haunts me… When my goldfish died also, I couldn't even talk about it for a week. But I'm trying to learn from it.
    Thank you for reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It took me a while to move past it. I entered a “why do I keep letting myself get attached to these animals, they will die eventually anyway” mentality, and now I regret that. I missed out on the beginning of my pet’s lives because I wouldn’t let myself get too close. It wasn’t until much later that I realized how damaging it was and was determined to make up for lost time.

    Aww, Vanilla is so cute! 😍 I look forward to seeing Hazel!

    LOL, it’s like cats are supposed to like milk. Tell that to Ode. He kind of licks at it and then walks away. 😄

    What an interesting diet they have!

    That’s so cool. Haha, that is one perk of having a cat – they bathe themselves, unless they get into something that they can’t // shouldn’t lick off.

    Aww, haha, poor things.

    Chickens surprisingly have different personalities. I had one chicken I called Penelope (if you’ve read my “About Me” page, you probably saw that my nickname is Penelope – I created the Penelope Payne online alias in 2009 in her honor when she died) and she was a handful. She went lame, so I brought her into the house and put her in a cat liter pan. (I had people tell me that I should put her down but I held her up and asked if it looked like she was in pain – she didn’t. She clucked happily and I kept her for two years after that.) It got to the point that I could kind of tell what was on her mind by the way she chirped. We were close. She liked corn, peas, some beans, beets, and grass in addition to chicken feed. She would get so excited to see me that she would almost flip out of the cat liter pan. 😄 One thing I learned is to never be around chickens if you paint your nails. They like to peck at shiny objects, and your manicure or pedicure will be wrecked in short order. 😂 Also, I had a rooster that liked to sit on my head. 😅 The roosters crow when the sun comes up, so you can forget about sleeping in. Penelope would also cluck to let me know about it and the fact that breakfast comes right after the sun comes up. I don’t know how she could tell because my room doesn’t get sunlight…

    I’m more of a cat person than a dog person, but I think I would also like guinea pigs. They sound amazing!

    Thank you. 🙂 We had 13 (just a few weeks shy of 14!) years together.

    Aww, I’m sorry. It is hard when it happens.

    I am as well! 🙂 Thank you for posting! I really needed the reminder of how much time I should be spending with them. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s an easy thing to do, but a hard thing to get out off. I totally understand – I’ve seen my friends do that and then wish they hadn’t. It’s good you are making up the lost time – it will make it even more special ❤

    Aww, thank you! I'll probably do another guinea pig post soon XD (I don't have too many good shots of them, so I'm hoping to get one of them both together this week.)

    Haha, that's a bit of a myth, from what I've heard! XD The pigs do that as well, they pick at their food a lot, LOL.

    I know! I was surprised at first. They like to live a life of luxury – even though they're not supposed to have too much fruit, they demand some every day XD

    Yes, that's one of the good things about cats! The poor pigs – they can't stand bathes. My heart always melts when we leave them outside in their cage and go somewhere, and when we come back it's been raining and they need a good drying-off session.

    Yes, their cuteness always makes me feel bad for them xD

    Wow, that's fascinating! (Yes, I saw – I was always wondering why you had that nickname. I'm sorry she died, but it's lovely to know you honoured her like that ❤ ) I feel like chickens would be great company, but you're right – maybe a bit of a handful. That's such a shame! I'm so glad you didn't put her down. (If someone told me to do that my heart would officially break 😦 ) That's so sweet that you guys were close ❤ Wow, peas? And beets? I had no idea! What a cool diet! Ooh, I'm a bit of a nail-fanatic so maybe a chicken wouldn't be the best thing for me then xD I'd probably just stop painting my nails though, because they sound so sweet! Woah, your very own alarm! Haha, that's funny how she would know! She sounds like she was a great chicken ❤

    Yes, I definitely prefer cats over dogs, and I prefer guinea pigs over cats! (Ahh just realize I sounded mean there, but I think you get my point…?) They're pretty fun to have around 😀 I love them so much.

    13 beautiful years ❤ ❤ ❤

    Thank you. You're right – dealing with it is hard.

    You're very welcome! Happy to be of service. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are so right! 🙂

    Good luck getting photos! 😀 It’s hard to get photos of animals sometimes; they don’t like to be still long enough unless you catch them sleeping!

    Aww! 😍 What kind of fruit do they beg for?

    How cute, that they pick at their food too!

    Aww, my heart would melt too! 😊 They must like to be dried off, being rubbed with a towel, all that attention!

    Thanks, me too. But she taught me so much – and it makes me feel awful about eating chicken. 😜 My parents were watching America’s Got Talent and called me into the room to watch a chicken play the piano. They asked, “Why couldn’t you teach Penelope to do that?” 😂 They’re smarter than you’d think!

    I didn’t know they liked beets either. There was something about the liquid when you open a can of beets. She didn’t really like the beets itself, she wanted the beet juice. 😄 Sweet peas were her favorite. She could empty my hand of peas in short order, and then give the “More!” chirp. She also has a weird way of showing she was done. When she started wiping her beak on my hand, it meant she was finished eating. It’s almost like when a person wipes their mouth on a napkin.

    LOL, I know, right? The worst thing you could do is glitter nail polish. It drives them crazy! Penelope eventually learned not to do that, so I could get away with the occasional polish. But the other chickens didn’t. I remember a story my grandma told me. She went into the chicken house to feed the chickens when she was a kid and one of the chickens ate a charm off of a bracelet or a necklace. 😳 I was careful to never let Penelope around jewelry after she told me that!

    Yeah, she was a great chicken! Someday, I hope to get more chickens. Not just for pets but for eggs. 😀 We had some that were called “Easter Eggers” because each chicken would lay a different color egg. We had purple, blue, green, pink, brown and white eggs. It was so strange! (Penelope was a miniature bantam – they are very small, she fit in the palm of my hand.)

    LOL! I get your point! 🙂 I like cats over dogs as well, and I’m sure I would love guinea pigs if I were to meet one!

    Yes, they were beautiful years! 🙂 ❤

    Hope you are having a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 🙂 ❤

    Haha, thanks! I know, they always wriggle around, or run away, or get too close to the camera… (I have this hilarious shot of Vanilla from when she was curious about what my phone was. All that's in the picture is a whisker and a nostril 😂😂)

    They like pears, but we mainly give them apples! They're not fond of much else – no berries or melons (vet's orders).

    I know! A bit hypocritical of them… ❤ ❤

    Haha, they're definitely divas! They love to snuggle up in a towel and fall asleep on top of me, which is adorable until they get a bit TOO comfortable and have a bathroom break… 😂😂😂😂😂

    Ah, I would feel bad as well. (I keep trying to go vegetarian and I fail every time…) Wow, that's incredible! A chicken playing the piano? Who would have known… LOL!

    That's interesting! I've never liked beet juice, I have to say. Awww, that's so cute that she used you as a living napkin! ❤ Definitely a sign of affection.

    Ahah, you're right! Oh wow, that must have been bad… there's always safety hazards like that. I remember the guinea pigs started to chew at my buttoned shirts until the buttons popped off… it was a relief to see the button hadn't been swallowed…

    That's so cute! Haha, it would be cool to have an on-going supply of eggs. Wow, laying purple and pink eggs? How interesting!! Aww, good things come in small packages ❤

    LOL 🙂

    That's so nice ❤ ❤ 🙂

    Thank you so much! You too xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LOL, a whisker and a nostril! That’s so funny!!! 😂😂😂

    Yum! They have quite an interesting diet! I assume no berries or melons because it’s really bad for them?

    LOL, Penelope would do that too. I learned quickly to make sure there was extra towels or something underneath just in case that happened, it wouldn’t get all over me. 😅

    Me too. **sigh**

    I know, right? Makes me kind of regret not trying to teach her a trick! XD

    I did try teaching my dog to fetch once but she would run and get the ball and I’d spend the next 30 minutes trying to get it back… 😂

    Haha, me either. I do like beets. But not the juice. XD

    Yeah! ❤ ❤ Affectionate, but it also felt a little weird. XD Of course, I let her do it anyway because it was so cute.

    You definitely had to be careful around them! Cats have the same type of curiosity. Sonny liked to try to eat zippers off of jeans or shirts, especially if I was wearing them. And Sketcher likes to try to take my shoes off, especially if here is Velcro involved. 😂 I wear sandals in the summer and she acts like it ruins her fun…

    I’m glad that your guinea pigs didn’t eat the buttons! That couldn’t be good for them. 😳

    It was cool to have eggs! We always had enough to give my grandparents some too. 🙂 Oh yes, definitely! ❤ And if you wanted to make a half of a recipe, you could use a miniature bantam egg for “half an egg” because they were so small. XD

    🙂 ❤

    Thank you, I did! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I know! Talk about a bad model… XD XD

    Yes, most fruits are quite bad for them, so we stick to basics 🙂

    Haha, yes. It’s not something I want to experience again (it’s happened hundreds of times already)…

    **sigh**

    I always used to think I could teach my pigs tricks. Turns out their best skill is practically climbing out of their cage to get lettuce XD

    Oh man… 😀

    Hehe, not the juice 🙂

    Yes! So cute ❤ ❤

    I know, they always seem to like eating things they really shouldn't… Ooh, eating a zipper? That's something I've not heard of before. And Velcro… Sandals are definitely a better option. LOL!

    Me too, I don't think I'd like to eat a button.

    I'm sure! That's nice 🙂 Awww, how cute! A little miniature egg ❤

    That's great!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yeah! XD Haha, animals are so hard to capture!

    Aww. 🙂 So nice you let them have some that isn’t so bad for them sometimes!

    Oh my. XD I agree – it’s no fun when that happens.

    Aww, haha! I bet that’s still cute!

    Yeah, cats too. The worst was Styrofoam. No more plates or cups made of that! It can hurt them if they eat too much of it when they shred it.

    Yeah, the zipper was on a shirt that you could turn from a round neck to a v-neck instantly by unzipping it. Sonny liked to play with it when in my lap. XD Sometimes I wasn’t ready and all the sudden, WHAP! XD He never got it off the shirt, but he sure tried! 😂

    LOL, yes!

    Me either! XD Buttons can’t be that tasty.

    It was so cute! My dad said it wasn’t worth eating, because it was too small. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  10. LOL 🙂 Yes!

    I agree, a little treat here and there! But not too much or they’ll get an upset stomach.

    Haha, indeed! XD

    Yes! It’s adorable ❤ Little faces peering out of the cage, taking in the sight of the lettuce… and then it turns into a full-on war. Scrambling, snatching, and most of all – SQUEEEEAK SQUEAK SQUEAK SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAK! XD

    Ooh, that sounds bad 😦

    Sounds like a cool shirt! Aww, that's pretty cute ❤

    😀

    Haha, true! XD

    I bet it was! Oh, that's a shame! Never mind. I'd probably be afraid of eating it in the first place, because I couldn't bring myself to destroy art like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

