‘Being Brilliant’ Part 4 – Mindset

Hey everybody! It’s time… I am sharing the final part to my ‘Being Brilliant’ series. I’ve had so much fun doing this set of posts! For those of you who are new here, I’ve been working on a mini series inspired by the book The Art of Being Brilliant. I will link the rest of the posts down below…

So in this final post, I will be talking about… your mindset. I’ll be getting a little more scientific than usual (although nothing major, I’m not the next Einstein) so let’s get started.

Do you enjoy a challenge?

Do you believe that you can develop skills?

Do you like to learn?

Do you think that it’s important to get something out of your life?

There are two types of mindset – fixed and growth. If you answered “yes” to the majority of the questions above, then you have a growth mindset. If you answered “no” to the majority, then you have a fixed mindset.

So what does this mean?

Well, let’s look at the characteristics of a growth mindset:

  • You’re open to new ideas
  • You learn from setbacks
  • You believe that people and relationships weren’t meant to be perfect – you can work on them until they are

And what about the characteristics of a fixed mindset?

  • You’re quick to judge
  • You believe you are born with a certain intelligence level – e.g if you’re not the smartest, you never will be
  • You don’t like to fail

You can probably tell just by looking at this that you’d rather be a growth mindset. And that’s a good start.

But you need to take it further than that.

You can’t just look at the characteristics of a growth mindset and say that you have them. You need to know you have them. You need to prove to yourself that you are a good learner. That you do like a challenge. That you try your best. You improve things until they can’t be improved. You take everything to the next level.

That’s what makes a growth mindset.

Finally, I want to show you the positives of having a growth mindset. Let’s make a lovely little bullet point list… because why not?

  • You are more likely to get better exam results
  • You will apply yourself to tasks, therefore more likely to finish them rather than procrastinate (although everyone procrastinates sometimes…)
  • You are more likely to succeed in getting a job or getting into uni/college
  • You have a good balance of work and play
  • You are likely to be one of the few people who really give life everything they have, and make a difference to the world. And those people are the ones that I look up to.

So if you take just one sentence from this entire series, let it be this: Get out there, make the most of what you have, try everything, believe in yourself, and never give up.

That’s all for today, folks! Let me know in the comments if you’ve enjoyed this series.

I’d like to give a massive credit to The Art of Being Brilliant and its authors for inspiring this series. I’ve taken a lot from the book, and it’s really motivated me to get out there and enjoy life while I can.

I’ve had a lot of fun writing these few posts, and I hope that my readers have enjoyed… well, reading them!

Thank you all for sticking around for the duration of this mini series. It doesn’t go unappreciated. See you in my next post!

Incomplete Thinker xx

6 thoughts on “‘Being Brilliant’ Part 4 – Mindset

Add yours

  1. Beautiful wrap-up to this awesome (or should I say brilliant? 😉 ) post series!!! 💚 I’m pretty sure that I have a growth mindset, but I struggle with the focus of a fixed mindset, as well. *sighs* I easily feel like I’m stuck the way that I am, but I’m also extremely motivated to change that. Honestly, I tip back and forth between them. 😂 Anyway, this series was so encouraging and inspiring! That sounds like a great book; I should check it out for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, thank you so much! (Haha, good one XD ) Ah, I understand. I’m a bit of a mixture too. I feel like I could push myself to be a complete “growth mindset” person, but then I just kinda slip back into the “cannot be bothered” attitude sometimes… XD
    Thanks again! Yes, definitely check it out if you can – I think you’ll love it ❤

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your miniseries a lot! 🙂 (And I’m not even a teenager anymore… can we just pretend that I am? 😂) I want to have the growth mindset, but I find myself discouraged a lot and I fall into the fixed mindset. Ugh. 😜 That needs to change! **glances at your previous post** 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

