‘Being Brilliant’ Part 2 – Passion

Hey everyone! Before we get into today’s post, I just wanted to say: I’m really sorry this post took so long. I wanted to make sure it was relatable, and realistic, and true. All of these things took time, and because I’ve been so busy with school and preparation for exams and dance shows, things have been hectic and it’s been hard to squeeze in the time for some blogging.

Anyway, today I will be sharing the second post in my ‘Being Brilliant’ series, which is inspired by the book The Art of Being Brilliant. If you missed my first post in the series, then you can find it here, and if you want some more information on the series then check out theΒ introduction post I did. Now let’s get started with today’s post!

So last time I talked about the priceless gift of life. I also listed 10 things I’m grateful for, but take for granted. (One of the activities in the book.)

In this post I want to share my views on one of the main themes in the book – finding a passion. As the book says: once you’ve found your passion, you’re good to go. If you work hard at your passion you’ll get a job you love, and that pays well. You can have great life opportunities, and one day maybe meet your dream partner…

The trouble for me is… I haven’t found my passion yet.

There are lots of things I’m good at: golf, dance, writing, violin, piano, French horn, annoying my brother, sleeping, baking, computing, procrastinating, etc.

And there are lots of things I enjoy: golf, dance, writing, violin, piano, French horn, annoying my brother, sleeping, baking, computing, procrastinating, etc.

And maybe one day, one of these things will be my passion.

But at the moment, I’m not sure.

I might be wrong, but to me, if I don’t totally love what I’m doing, then it’s not my passion. (I know, I know, I have a completely fixed mindset. This is something the book talks about! I’ll expain it in depth in another post.)

I adore playing instruments. I love writing (why else would I start a blog?). I play golf regularly. I enjoy spending time at dance class.

But sometimes instrument practice is just a bit… well, tedious.

Sometimes I just don’t feel like going down to the range and hitting some golf balls.

Sometimes I don’t feel like rehearsing my dance routines. (It’s funny – I always get excited about going to the actual class but I never practice at home. Is this weird?)

You eagle eyes out there may have noticed I never mentioned the times when I don’t feel like blogging.

That’s because there aren’t any.

So yes, sometimes I feel uninspired and have to go for a few days (maybe even a few weeks) without blogging at all, until I find a topic I’m comfortable with writing, and that I can write about honestly. But there are never really times when I don’t want to blog – especially if I have a new idea for a post.

Does this mean blogging/writing is my passion…?

I’ve always loved writing. Even when I was little it was still my favourite subject at school. (Except for lunch. Yes, that’s right, lunchtime was a subject for me…) When I was about 7 I entered a poetry competition and won. I was so pleased and had fantasies about becoming a world-famous author.

These days I’ve realized that there is more to writing than being an author. You get bloggers, travel journalists, newspaper folk, email-writers (is that a job…?), etc.

But I still don’t know what I want to do when I’m older.

That’s another query of mine is: what is my dream job?

Being a blogger? Or something else…?

Just an incomplete thought. Please feel free to tell me in the comments below if you’ve found your passion or not, and if so – how did you know?

Thank you so much for reading, it is much appreciated. The third post in the series will hopefully be out soon!

Incomplete Thinker xx

 

11 thoughts on “‘Being Brilliant’ Part 2 – Passion

Add yours

  1. This is such a great post! Growing up, I had so many ideas about what I’d enjoy doing when I was older, but there was nothing set in stone for me. All these other kids seemed to know exactly what they were going to spend the rest of their life doing, but it wasn’t like that for me at all. I loved working with animals, coloring, reading, and once I was old enough, writing stories, but they were all just things I enjoyed, not necessarily as a future career. Throughout my teen years and now, with one year left of school, I know that I absolutely love writing, in any shape or form. But will I ever get paid for it? Time will tell πŸ™‚ I also love inspiring people through my writing; maybe I’ll pursue that someday. Either way, I’ll be happy. You would make a great writer/blogger/whatever kind of writing job you chase after! I love your work, and you would definitely be good at it. xx Do your best not to stress what the future will hold; I’ve made that mistake. Take it a day at a time πŸ™‚ xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you! Yes, it’s really confusing to think about. All my friends are ambitious and have massive dreams they want to fulfill. And then there’s me – I’m terrible at making decisions (standing joke at my school), so how am I supposed to choose something to dedicate the rest of my life to?
    That’s great that you’ve continued with your love of writing. And it’s also great that you want to inspire people! That would be a fantastic thing to pursue, and you would do so well at it!
    Aw, thanks! That’s really nice of you πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely try to do that. You’re right – breaking things down makes it much easier to handle.
    Thanks again for your advice and kind words ❀ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am/was the same way! I had so many interests as a child and I always would go back and forth into what I wanted to do. I was such a passionate kid who loved to do so many things without fear. Then, I got to one point where I didn’t even care anymore, and I picked random things that seemed okay and would get me a job. And entering university is not the best time for that. But, because I was so good in school and kept learning, I never saw a problem until now.

    At the beginning of this year, I was sick of not being happy so I started listening to podcasts for motivation and to improve myself (including The School of Greatness, the Art of Charm, Dream. Think. Do) and it began to fire me up again! After a time, I finally got the random idea of a business while driving – which is why I began this blog post in the first place!

    For me, the question is, “Can I NOT do this?”. Today, that is a no. It has been no for the past three months. I constantly come up with ideas and concepts – a lot longer than any other interest! At some point, you are going to realize that you can’t live at all without it, and that may be writing!

    The one thing that I would no worry about is money. You can always make money, even if it is a boring job. But at night, all of the misery will go away with your passion and, if you push, you may make money off of it! Do not put a limitation such as money to not do it at all.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks for reading this post! I really appreciate it.
    I see, sometimes I feel the same. I frequently flicker between what I want to do. So many choices! People tell me that I can ‘do anything’, but what is the anything? There are thousands of exciting job opportunities out there – and I think it’s really hard to narrow it down.
    That’s great that you’re a good learner – it’s definitely helpful in life.
    Wow, that’s a fantastic idea! I like the sound of those, I might try and listen to some of them one day. Motivation and inspiration is really important – that’s why I bullet journal. It lightens up my mood and gets me ready for new things! (I don’t know how it does this. It just does… xD)

    I’m really happy that you’re enjoying things in life now. Your blog is really good! Looking forward to your future posts πŸ™‚

    That’s really good advice, thank you. Money is becoming such an issue in the modern world so I think you’re right – it’s best not to worry about it. It definitely restricts your options.

    Thanks again for all your help x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think that there have to be plenty of teens like us out there! They’re just not widespread, haha. Thank you so much! I think the same of you. ❀ I love your writing. You're welcome πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

