Forming a Mask

Hi guys! Today I have a kind of deep post. Hope you enjoy.

Do you ever feel like you’re hiding behind a mask?

I do.

Society is quick to judge, quick to label people. Once you’ve been labelled, there’s not much you can do. You’re just ‘the tall one’ or ‘the goth one’ or ‘the one who dropped their tray at lunch and split soup on their new shirt’.

I want to change that.

I feel like I’m constantly hiding behind a mask. And it’s taken me months to form this mask.

There’s so much pressure to fit in, when really all I want to do is stand out. Because how will anyone ever notice me if I just become one of the crowd?

But then again, I’d rather be a clone and have friends than be myself and be Miss No-Mates.

Or would I?

People always view me as ‘geeky’. I’m ‘not cool’. I have lots of friends but most of them are not really my ‘friends’. So I have to pretend I don’t care about school or going to university (when really I do) and that all I think about is makeup and Snapchat (of course, this is not all I think about. I don’t even have Snapchat, and the only makeup I wear is lip balm).

But my theory is that everyone is really just the same. On the inside.

People weren’t born being incredible at everything. They just learned how to do more and more over the years.

So that means people weren’t born being perfect. But why does everyone act like they are perfect then?

The world does not revolve around one person. There are over 7 billion people on this planet, so to make just one person be the centre of attention is unbelievably, hilariously exclusive.

Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is that everyone is the same on the inside. Scared of not being accepted, scared of being judged, scared of being different.

It’s okay to be different. In fact, we were born to be unique. No two people are the same (not even identical twins).

So what if everyone just accepted that no one was born more superior than anyone else? What if we all agreed to… not have cliques, not be exclusive, not be judgemental… just be kind?

Because I’m tired of hiding behind this mask. I don’t want to be popular… I just want to be respected.

Anyway… this is just an incomplete thought. What do you guys think? Does anyone here agree with me? I’d love to hear your ideas in the comments.

Thank you for reading! It doesn’t go unappreciated πŸ™‚

Incomplete Thinker xx

32 thoughts on “Forming a Mask

Add yours

  1. Yeah. πŸ˜… It did, but I was kind a kid when that happened, so I don’t remember it as well as the one in the shoulder, which could have been a yellow jacket. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad it wasn’t that bad! πŸ™‚

    Yeah. Oohh, I see. Ouch, bee allergies are bad too.

    πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I see. It’s probably a good thing you can’t remember it!
    Yeah, me too πŸ˜…
    Ooh, yeah, bee allergies are nasty. I’ve seen a lot of people who have been stung (who have allergies) and honestly it’s really bad. No fun at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

